European Commission announces upcoming changes from September 1, 2020
Since March 31, 2020, there have been changes in the rules of origin for the movement of goods between the European Union (EU) and the countries of Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA).

From September 1, 2020, goods originating in the European Union (EU) can only be imported into the ESA countries at a preferential rate if there is a declaration on the invoice,
• which was made out by a registered exporter (REX),
• or which was made out by an exporter (without registration), provided that the value of the shipment does not exceed 6,000 euros.
The invoice declaration must be made out in accordance with Article 23 of Protocol 1 and using the text in Annex IV.

Exporters and other economic operators must register in time in the REX system.

Notice to exporters on the application of the EU Registered Exporter System (REX system) for EU exports to Eastern and Southern Africa (ESA countries) under the Interim Economic Partnership Agreement between the EU and ESA countries; OJ C 176 of May 26, 2020, p. 3.